“Hi, this is Flume and you’re listening to my new single. Tap the artwork to listen and save to your music….”

Followed by a complex layering of vocal recording , this is how we’re welcomed into a new era of Flume. After a three year hiatus, which saw the Australian-born producer disappear from the music sphere, the 27-year-old’s unique sounds returned to the ears of fans across the world this week. Teasing the new drop via social media, Flume has debuted a fresh new mixtape.

Entitled ‘Hi This Is Flume’, the aptly dubbed album is the only thing you need to switch on this weekend. Accompanied by a visualiser from Jonathan Zawada, the album features 17 tracks and 38 minutes of transcendent electronic beats. Drawing from the underground world of music, while the tracks are absent of big names, it has plucked out and put on display creatives such as JPEGMAFIA, SOPHIE, Kucka and more.

Credit: Nino Muñoz

More niche than his more mainstream work, it seems that the Grammy award-wining artist has returned to his roots of experimental and trance-like sounds.

Following on from his 30 second intro, no two tracks are the same. Beginning with ‘Ecdysis’ and ‘High Beams’ – both of which carry a hip-hop approach – the album slows into a more oriental and delicate style of sounds, found in the likes of ‘Jewel’. One track that is proving to be a favourite is ‘Is It Cold In The Water?’, featuring Scottish singer, songwriter SOPHIE.

Further in the album, we hear the rap-heavy collaboration with JPEGMAFIA, before the tracks move into experimental sounds and a complex layerings.

While the artist has been very active on his Instagram – of which boasts one million followers – his return to music has been a special one and we can’t wait for what else is in-store. Welcome back Flume.

Tune into the tracks below.