Back Row Robert Sebastian Grynkofk, Marc Freeman, Bianca Spender, Adrian Norris, Rachel Gilbert. Front Row – Jordan Gogos, Sarah Munro, Camilla Freeman-Topper, Kiesha Bovill (Model wearing AARLI), Edwina Forest, Lesleigh Jermanus. Credit: Supplied

Today, IMG announced the finalists to the 15th Australian Fashion Laureate, the country’s highest accolade in honouring the exceptional talent of local designers, creatives, innovators and leaders. On November 22 the industry will gather for an intimate ceremony to announce this year’s winners. Past award alumni includes Romance Was Born founders Anna Plunkett and Luke Sales and Dinosaur Designs’ duo Louise Olsen and Stephen Ormandy.

“The Australian Fashion Laureate celebrates the hard work and creativity of Australia’s top designers and their role in the growth and global recognition of Australian fashion,” said Natalie Xenita, Vice President-Managing Director of IMG’s Fashion Events and Properties, Asia-Pacific. “It’s fantastic to see designers that have emerged through Afterpay Australian Fashion Week go on to be recognised at the Laureate. This year’s group of finalists have demonstrated excellence in their craft and have been purposeful in utilising their platforms and influence to communicate important social, cultural, and environmental messages.”

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA – MAY 11: A model walks the runway during the Aje show during Afterpay Australian Fashion Week 2022 Resort ’23 Collections at the Museum of Contemporary Art on May 11, 2022 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA – MAY 09: A model is seen backstage at the Bianca Spender show during Afterpay Australian Fashion Week 2022 Resort ’23 Collections at Carriageworks on May 09, 2022 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Saverio Marfia/WireImage)

The annual ceremony recognises excellence across the categories of Designer of the Year, Emerging Designer of the Year, Indigenous Designer of the Year, Sustainable Innovation of the Year, and People’s Choice. The industry’s pinnacle honour, the Australian Fashion Laureate Lifetime Achievement Award, celebrates a longstanding and meaningful impact on the Australian fashion industry.

The Australian Fashion Laureate now also features the namesake Carla Zampatti Award for Excellence in Leadership, proudly presented by Porsche, created in tribute of the late designer. The winner will be announced the following evening at the opening night of Zampatti’s retrospective exhibition at the Powerhouse Ultimo on November 23.

2022 Australian Fashion Laureate finalists are:

Designer of the Year, presented by BTC Markets

Adrian Norris and Edwina Forest, Aje
Camilla Freeman-Topper and Marc Freeman, CAMILLA AND MARC
Christopher Esber
Rachel Gilbert

Emerging Designer of the Year, presented by LG

Alix Higgins
Jordan Dalah
Jordan Gogos, Iordanes Spyridon Gogos
Lesleigh Jermanus, ALÉMAIS

Indigenous Designer of the Year, presented by Redken

Denni Francisco, Ngali
Laura Thompson, Clothing The Gaps
TJ Cowlishaw, AARLI
Liandra Gaykamangu, Liandra Swim

Sustainable Innovation of the Year, presented by DHL

Bianca Spender
Kit Willow, KITX
Matt Jenson, M.J. Bale
Sarah Munro and Robert Sebastian Grynkofki, Sarah and Sebastian